Six Norwegian Mountain Melodies (violin and piano)


Title: Six Norwegian Mountain Melodies

Composer: Edvard Grieg, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin and Piano

Printout: 15 pages, including title page

Note: These pieces range from 10 to 44 measures in length, and are accessible to intermediate players who are learning the middle to upper positions. It is an excellent nineteenth century complement to the standard baroque and classical era repertoire that dominates the literature at this level. Pieces may be learned and performed individually or as a suite.

Skills: Largely in first through third position with passages in fourth, fifth and sixth; C, F, D, A Major and A minor; 3/4, 2/4 and 6/8 time; varied bow strokes and articulations; light chromaticism.

Audio sample: beginning of #1 and #4.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Six Norwegian Mountain Melodies (violin and piano)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *