Four Voltes from Terpsichore (string quartet)


Bargain Bundle – Save over 25% off cost when purchased separately. These four dances make a lively set suitable for concert or occasional use.


Title: Four Voltes from Terpsichore: TMA 199; TMA 201; TMA 211; and TMA 231

Composer: Michael Praetorius, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1; Violin 2; Viola; Cello

Printout: 17 pages including title page

Note: The Volte was a favorite dance in the court of Queen Elizabeth I of England. Its name comes from an assisted turning leap (vault) executed by the lady during the course of the dance. In some circles, this maneuver was considered scandalous, as the male dancer placed his hands upon the lady’s waist. Praetorius’ music is enjoyed by listeners of many persuasions.

Audio samples are available on pages for the individual items. Click on the individual TMA numbers above to listen.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Four Voltes from Terpsichore (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *