Allegro, from Suite for Mechanical Organ (string quartet)


Title: Allegro, from Suite for Mechanical Organ

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1; Violin 2; Viola; Cello

Printout: 8 pages

Note: After Beethoven’s death, a manuscript for a suite in G was found among his effects. There was no indication of the composer’s intended instrumentation, and scholars eventually surmised that it was written for mechanical organ or musical clock. It is an excellent piece for introducing intermediate students to string quartet playing, and it is useful to professionals for celebratory occasions or even light concert use.

More Beethoven works arranged for string quartet:

March, from the opera Fidelio

Two Bagatelles

Rondo Capriccio – “Rage over a lost penny”

Sonatina in G Major, first movement


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Allegro, from Suite for Mechanical Organ (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *