Dance of the Jesters, from The Snow Maiden (Rimsky-Korsakov) (string quartet)


Title: Dance of the Jesters, from the opera The Snow Maiden

Composer: Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1; Violin 2; Viola; Cello

Printout: 8 pages

Note: Rimsky-Korsakov’s opera The Snow Maiden is based on the stage play by Ostrovsky for which Tchaikovsky had previously written incidental music. The Dance of the Jesters is classic Rimsky-Korsakov, with captivating melodies and imaginative instrumentation. The audio sample below includes the two principal themes.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dance of the Jesters, from The Snow Maiden (Rimsky-Korsakov) (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *