Arioso, from Cantata 156 (cello and piano or organ)


Title: Arioso, from Cantata 156

Composer: J. S. Bach, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Cello and Piano or Organ

Printout: 4 pages including cover

Note: Bach must have known he had a winner in this beautiful Adagio, for he used it twice: once as the sinfonia to Cantata 156, and again as the slow movement of a harpsichord concerto. This arrangement is based on the cantata version, transposed to G Major to take advantage of open string sonorities. The cello solo is written in tenor clef throughout. Arioso is a must-have for string players, useful for both gigs and recitals.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Arioso, from Cantata 156 (cello and piano or organ)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *