3 German Dances, KV 605 “The Sleighride” (string quartet)


Title: 3 German Dances, KV 605 “The Sleighride”

Composer: W. A. Mozart, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1; Violin 2; Viola; Cello

Printout: 8 pages

Note: Mozart was quite busy in 1791, the final year of his life. In addition to composing two operas, several chamber works, the well known Ave Verum Corpus, and working on his Requiem Mass,  he served as Imperial Chamber Composer for Joseph II, Holy Roman Emperor. In this capacity he produced dozens of dances, including KV 605. The third dance of this set includes the famous “sleigh ride.”

The audio sample includes the beginning of No. 1 and a portion of the Sleighride.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “3 German Dances, KV 605 “The Sleighride” (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *