Arioso – Sinfonia from Cantata 156 (viola cello duo)


Title: Arioso, Sinfonia from Cantata 156

Composer: J. S. Bach, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Viola and Cello

Printout: 2 pages

Note: Bach used this movement as the Sinfonia for Cantata 156 and – with much ornamentation – as the middle movement of the harpsichord concerto, BWV 1056. It has been transcribed for more instruments and ensembles than perhaps any other of Bach’s compositions. Rightly so, as it is mesmerizingly beautiful. Arioso an essential part of any musician’s repertoire.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Arioso – Sinfonia from Cantata 156 (viola cello duo)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *