Arioso – Sinfonia from Cantata 156 (string quartet)


Title: Arioso, Sinfonia from Cantata 156

Composer: J. S. Bach, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola and Cello

Printout: 4 pages

Note: Bach used this beautiful adagio in two separate works: as the sinfonia to Cantata 156 (solo oboe with strings playing arco) and as the middle movement of the harpsichord concerto, BWV 1056 (with much ornamentation in the solo part and strings playing pizzicato). This setting is based on the sinfonia. Arioso is one of the most popular requests for wedding music. It is a must-have piece for all gigging quartets. The first violin part in this arrangement can be played on flute or oboe.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Arioso – Sinfonia from Cantata 156 (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *