Arioso, from Cantata 156 (viola and piano or organ)


Title: Arioso, from Cantata 156

Composer: J. S. Bach, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Viola and Piano or Organ

Printout: 4 pages including cover

Note: Bach must have known he had a winner wth this beautiful Adagio, for he used it twice: once as the sinfonia to Cantata 156, and again as the slow movement of a harpsichord concerto. This arrangement is based on the cantata version, transposed to D Major to take full advantage of the viola’s resonance. This is a must-have piece, valuable for both recital and gig use.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Arioso, from Cantata 156 (viola and piano or organ)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *