2 Kontratänze, KV 603 (string quartet)


Title: 2 Kontratänze, KV 603

Composer: W. A. Mozart, arr. David Gable

Instrumentation: Violin 1; Violin 2; Viola; Cello

Printout: 6 pages

Note: Though designated as “two contradances,” KV 603 has changes of key, meter, and tempo that divide it into four distinct sections and give it the character of a miniature divertimento. The original scoring included winds and no violas (following the instrumentation Mozart used in Salzburg), so the wind parts have been used to create a viola part, making this delightful work available to string quartet players.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “2 Kontratänze, KV 603 (string quartet)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *